Nikko Trip: On the way there

Image

First, before you read on. Here’s a bit about Nikko from  Japan-Guide.com

 “Nikko is a town at the entrance to Nikko National Park, most famous for Toshogu, Japan’s most lavishly decorated shrine and the mausoleum of Tokugawa Ieyasu, the founder of the Tokugawa shogunate.

Nikko had been a center of Shinto and Buddhist mountain worship for many centuries before Toshogu was built in the 1600s, and Nikko National Park continues to offer scenic, mountainous landscapes, lakes, waterfalls, hot springs, wild monkeys and hiking trails.

Nikko and the Okunikko area around Lake Chuzenji, in particular, are well known for their beautifulautumn colors (koyo). In the average year the colors start descending from the higher elevations ofYumoto Onsen in early October, are best around Lake Chuzenji and the Irohazaka road in mid to late October and reach the town of Nikko in the first half of November.

Nikko is located along Japan’s Romantic Road.

I decided to go to Nikko because I felt that even though it was spring break at ICU, I didn’t really go anywhere out of Tokyo and I really wanted to, so I did. I got a deal from my friend to buy her JR Rail pass for a low price and I took it. I also decided to go because it was highly recommended as a day trip from one of the regulars of the bars a frequented.

I left on the JR line round 6 in the morning and got to Nikko round 9 or 10am. It took some time because I missed the train I was supposed to be on and ended up taking a local. Local trains end up hitting every stop. Also the local train I went on didn’t go all the way to Utsunomiya Station so I had to transfer. I didn’t mind it though. The scenery was nice and it was quiet. I kept on recalling scenes from Kamikaze Girls, which take place in Utsunomiya. (BTW, I recommend the movie. It’s a very good example of Japanese cinema.)Image

When you arrive at Utsunomiya Station, most likely you’re going to have to stop wait for the Nikko line to arrive. The wait was nice through. If you have a JR Pass you can exit the station freely and enter freely so go ahead and do your thang, but I just sat in the waiting area and grabbed a green tea mocha with was delicious. I love mocha!!(Japanese sweet)

I loved the Nikko line. I was so cute. The seats where red and it felt like I was on my way to Disney land lol. It took about an hour to reach Nikko and when I did it reminded me of an old town in the wild wild west. It was uuber cool.

Please continue to the next post!!

Leave a Reply

